找回密码
 注册老北京网

QQ登录

只需一步,快速开始

查看: 6005|回复: 3

View of a Local in Beijing, China

[复制链接] 放大 缩小 原始字体
发表于 2009-3-6 22:04:00 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式

Beijing resident Zhang Wei is fighting an uphill battle to document and preserve the few Siheyuan (compound with a courtyard) and Hutongs (narrow lane between courtyards) left in Beijing.  he tells us about his Old Beijing project and how you as a visitor to Beijing can help preserve this important part of Chinese culture. Translated by Yi Jing.

9 t l1 w: p1 l1 T( [6 O

7 @7 @1 l1 o+ `1 d/ c O- k( P

Briefly please could you tell us a bit about yourself?

8 b* y7 u& Q; m* ~! @& g

My name is Zhang Wei and I’m 30 years old. I used to work as a cook and media worker. I’ve a girlfriend, but we’re not married yet.

1 l: k N5 v+ P+ d/ t" C, `

How long have you lived in Beijing?

. ^' ]4 _" U. }- X

I was born in Beijing in 1977, then moved to another province with my parents for 15 years. They worked there and I spent my summer and winter vacations in Beijing with my grandparents almost every year. I now live and work in Beijing.

6 {4 L0 ]+ v3 ?9 _1 J

You’re the founder of the Old Beijing project. What is the project about and why did you start it?

) _& R5 ~9 F1 ?- j; v+ D# P" Q

The initial reason for building this website was to remember our old house, which was demolished. In the year of 2000, during the road-widening project in Beijing, our old house, where my family had lived for over 70 years, was torn down. I kept the wooden frame of a window, which was made from red pinetree as a memento and took it to my new home. One night, I was looking at it and suddenly a thought came into my mind: I ought to do something to remember our old house. In addition, I have always had a passion for the traditional culture of the old Beijing. Then the oldbeijing.org was born.

, R% K/ S8 N+ {# D) P" \

What do you hope to achieve with the Old Beijing project?

, d$ {6 O s: m" n6 t# L" W) m2 K' w! A